Survivalist Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Your move Sparky...
7,782 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am smoking a ham today, but forgot to take it out last night and find myself with 20 pounds of solid frozen goodness.

I would like to get it on the smoker sometime this year, does anyone have any good tricks for getting this thing defrosted to a point where it is safe to put on a slow cook smoker?

I have been smoking meat for several decades but have never found myself in this predicament. I have committed dumbassery for sure.

Any ideas would be appreciated.

Also, if you are in the Cumming, Ga. area and want to partake in some pulled pork then PM me.

Thanks,
Cool Hand

·
Registered
13 Posts
Any time we have a frozen turkey or ham, we just put it in a cool water bath and change out the water every 20 minutes or so, or keep it under cool running water. But geez, with 20 pounds, I don't even think you'd get it thawed today doing that. But you might want to try it until someone else here comes up with something better. Good Luck. Pulled pork sounds yummy.

·
Your move Sparky...
7,782 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Yeah, it's my last piece of pork from the recent slaughter. As soon as I get this done and the temp cools a bit I get to do another one.

·
Green Eggs and Spam
5,071 Posts
I am smoking a ham today, but forgot to take it out last night and find myself with 20 pounds of solid frozen goodness...
I don't know, never tried it personally. However, I have two ideas.

I'd try putting in a pot with a small amount of continually running cool water; if possible with the cool water plumbed into the bottom of the pot. I just think this would be faster then letting it sit for periods of time.

If water were not available, consider putting the meat on something like a sheet of aluminum with plenty of air flow. Rotate the piece so the meat defrosts evenly.

Let us know what you try and how it works out!

·
Capability, not scenarios
11,964 Posts