Survivalist Forum banner
1 - 20 of 59 Posts

·
Registered
119 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I was a soldier (U.S. Army) and infantry NCO for several years in my younger days. When I started out in the 1980's during the Cold War our basic gear was basically Vietnam-era kit- LBE (load bearing equipment), the 'steel pot' helmet that traced it's roots back to WW2, the lumpy 'flack jacket', and the M17 protective mask. In the early 2000's I retired, after a year in Afghanistan. At that time we were transitioning from the 1990's gear improvements into the IBA (Interceptor Body Armor) with Molle attachments. Of course we were issued LBE- that never saw light, remaining in my duffel bag for the year in-country. Currently I have a plate carrier with a loadout that can hold 6 mags, ten 12 guage shells, 2 pistol mags, a canteen, a compass and map, and an IFAK. I also have an LBE set up that has 2 canteens, butt pack, 6 mags, pistol with mags, FAK, field knife (KBar), and navigation gear (compass, map, pencil).

In/around the property the plate carrier works for me. If I were to need to travel while kitted and armed (e.g.- zombie apocalypse), the LBE would probably be my choice.

What is your go-to for load out?

What Infantryman Gear should Civilians Own? - YouTube

·
Premium Member
1,151 Posts
Hey Bruce, where were you stationed in the 80's? My brother was MOS 19D in Frieberg, Germany in the early 80's. Had many a fun story about his deployment. His platoon was the real deal; some dead weight but several a**-kickers also.

RE: your question, you're a level-of-magnitude above most people already. I'm not military (1970 4F :sick:) but wanted to shout out anyway. Best.

·
Registered
1,615 Posts