Survivalist Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
EDIT: Found what I'm trying to do here: http://www.survivalistboards.com/showthread.php?t=155774 .

Hey guys, I have no experience with deep wells at all and I recently purchased a property that has a deep well about 50 yards from the house. I know you can buy hand pumps that fit on the well cap itself but since it is so far away, any ideas on what I can do in the house if the power goes out?

Can I put a T fitting somewhere in the line with a hand pump or is the run too long at 50 yards? I don't mind pumping for several minutes if I have to but don't want it to be measured in hours.

·
Psalm 23:4
2,891 Posts
How deep is your well? The deepest hand pump I found is 300ft. We did a cistern in the house. Even if the solar goes down it will last a while before we have to go out and pump.

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thanks! Didn't see that one. It doesn't have a lot of info though. I saw a post somewhere, not sure if it was this site or another, where the person mounted a small handpump on a utility sink installed next his pressure tank and other well equipment and connected it with a T fitting. I'm just not sure on what line to install the T fitting or if it will cause any problems with pressure, etc. I was hoping someone familiar with well systems could provide some assistance.

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
How deep is your well? The deepest hand pump I found is 300ft. We did a cistern in the house. Even if the solar goes down it will last a while before we have to go out and pump.
Not sure how deep it is, I'll have to call the county and find out. I want to use the existing lines and just be able to pump drinking water indefinitely without having to go outside if the power goes out.

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
The only way too know for sure is to bite the bullet and hook one up and see if it works .
luckyfasteddie,