Survivalist Forum banner

1 - 20 of 44 Posts

·
Registered
46 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm pretty new to the backpacking and hiking scene and I was wondering what you might put in your day pack or the pack you take with you on those trips you have no intentions of staying overnight. On any trip you must take water with you but in case of worst case scenerio do you take something small like iodine tablets or go with a full fledged filtration/purifacation system? Or, do you take your canteen and a metal cup and boil water as you find it?

How about extra clothing? I'm a snowboarder and a skier and I was thinking of packing my long johns/wool base layer for its insulating value, small size and light weight along with a fleece jacket or hoody and a poncho.

What about shelter concerns? Wal-Mart sells a one person collapsable shelter tarp thing. This would not be sufficient for backpacking but for an emergency use only it would probably work.

No doubt that I should bring my survival Knife and some method of starting fire with a tinder kit of some sort. No need to bring an ax or saw right?

What do you keep in your day pack?

·
Here to learn
789 Posts
I would have the following on a typical day hike:

On my person (in pockets):
PSK (personal survival kit)
Knife
Compass/map
Fire starter (matches or lighter or ferro rod)
whistle

In my daypack:
2 liters of water w/ nesting cup
Windproof/waterproof shell
Snack or lunch or both (depending on how long I planned to be out)
FAK (first aid kit)
Hat
Gloves
Extra socks
Wool sweater
Space blanket or heat reflective bivy sack
Bug head net

Optional:
GPS
PLB
Raincoat & rainpants (if rain is forecasted)
Bug spray
Sunscreen

Clothing system: I only wear wool or synthetics in the wilderness. My normal system is to wear synthetic quick drying cargo pants, a Smartwool t-shirt, smartwool socks, high-upper gortex/leather hiking boots, and hat/bandana, sunglasses.