Survivalist Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Will let you beg for food
793 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Does anyone know how to do this really well? All I want to learn to do is make granny squares to start...I just can't get it. Any sites, tips or suggestions?

·
Knocked Down But Up Again
5,579 Posts
I crochet really well, but I am a LOUSY teacher. Granny squares are pretty easy once you know how.

You crochet five single crochets, then join those stitches into a circle.

Once you've made them into a circle, you make 3 triple crochet stitches into that circle, then make a single crochet. This is called a Cluster. Do this 4 times and join the last single crochet into the first stitch of your first cluster of triple crochet stitches. Am I making any sense? This is your first row of your granny square.

Next, take your mini-granny square that you have just made and turn it around so that you are looking on the back side of the work that you have just completed. In that first single crochet that you did between clusters you will make 2 clusters of triple crochets. This is really important. Don't forget to single crochet between each cluster. Do that with each of the four holes you see. When you have done that, join the last stitch you made to the first stitch in your first cluster. You have now completed your second row.

Again, turn your granny square around so that you are now looking at the back of the row that you have just completed. Your third row will be only 1 cluster in that single crochet. After you have done that, you will notice that you have come to a corner. Do 2 clusters for that corner, then only one cluster for a non-corner single crochet. If you have done this correctly, you will have completed your third row with 4 single clusters and 4 double clusters. All of the double clusters must be on the corners only.