Survivalist Forum banner

1 - 20 of 42 Posts

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey all. I am brand new to HAM and other forms of commo. I've used a walkie-talkie, and that's about it. I'm networking with some family members to have communication options for (fill in the blank) emergencies, in the event that cell services were to be unavailable.

I have been researching two way radios, and have come across the BaoFeng UV-5R and the Wouxun KG-UV2D as possible good options. I can get the BaoFeng for $40, and the Wouxun for $99. Why should I buy one over the other, and are there better options for $100 or less? I know both these radios have been discussed before, but I want to understand what I'm looking at when I read the spec sheets (it might as well be a foreign language), and what those mean practically. I don't have my heart set on either one, but let me lay out the following information to take into consideration:

• Needs to have communication capabilities 30+ miles
  • Needs to be simple to operate once set up
  • Needs to be able to funciton with all kinds of devices (walkie-talkie, GMRS, CB, MURS, Marine, emergency alerts, etc)
  • Needs to have a best price of $100 or less (meaning that it might be more somewhere else, but I can find it for $100 or less)
  • Needs to be rugged and dependable
  • Needs to have highest audio quality and function for the price

It would be nice to have the following:

• Waterproof
  • Ability to encrypt conversations (I know that neither one of these have that)
  • Way to name the channels rather than having to memorize the numbers

Are there any other features I should be looking for?

The reason for this post is because I don't know anything about specs or the jargon. I will be getting HAM certified, but I learn best by getting my hands on something.