Survivalist Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm a noob and an old one at that but I would like to ask a question of all of you who hike and camp all year round. Is there clothing that can be used to cover all 4 seasons (or 3)? I don't want to wind up with a wardrobe of seasonal stuff if there is a particular brand that can handle almost all weather conditions.

Highlander52

·
ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒ&
8,248 Posts
Practice layering. Several layers of clothes--adjusted for the season. Stick with cotton or wool if you can.

·
free man
626 Posts
Stay away from cotton! It gets wet and stays wet forever(then it gets really heavy, cold, and chafes like crazy). The only cotton I carry when extended backpacking is a bandana.

Synthetic is the way to. Wool works awesome but..its relatively heavy and bulky for long pack trips(but very fire resistant, fwiw) imo. I'll get flamed for this from the wool crowd, but oh well.

Think 3 layering systems.

Top system:Shell->Totally wind and waterproof, BUT BREATHABLE!!(no cheap coated shells!) Holds heat in while keeping the wind from pulling away ones body heat thru the otherwise very breathable under layers. Features like pitzips, mesh pockets, etc all help when more ventilation is needed(when climbing, working, etc. but can be zipped up when one is dorment).

Mid system:=super breathable insulating layers->thicker breathable layers like fleece(fleece is super light but somewhat bulky like wool, so choose wisely. But works awesome for insulating. When layering, don't get Windblocker because thats what your shell is for, and the redundency will only add weight, bulk, and less breathability otherwise=unwanted sweat. Fleece can be soaked in a stream..then shaken out..and immediately worn with no ill effects. Wool gets heavy when wet, and takes forever to dry compared to syn fleece). This mid layering can be 2 layers if needed, like a mid weight top under a fleece vest, etc.