Survivalist Forum banner

Choosing a Battery of Hunting Rifles

2136 44
Fourty years ago this month I graduated engineering school, and started earning real money. I did not own much at first, in fact I moved cross country with everything I owned packed in my VW Rabbit.

The only guns I owned were family hand me downs. But I spent an inordinate amount of time dreaming of a real collection (battery) of hunting rifles. One of the causes of this fixation was an article written by G&A field editor, Bob Milek.
Hat Air gun Wind instrument Gesture Cap

Bob had argued he could hunt every species of game in North America with just three rifles. I made different choices than he did, but as soon as I had the cash, I started building my own hunting battery.

My first choice was a Ruger 77 in 270 win topped with a 2.5-8x Leupold gold ring.
The very next month, I bought a Ruger 77RS in 338 with a 1.5-5x Leupold.
Then I added a Remington Wingmaster in 12 ga.
Much later, I added a 22-250 Varmit Rifle.

Anyone else buy their hunting guns like this?
1 - 20 of 45 Posts

· Pisticus Veritas
Very Prepared!!
67,956 Posts
Fourty years ago this month I graduated engineering school, and started earning real money. I did not own much at first, in fact I moved cross country with everything I owned packed in my VW Rabbit.

The only guns I owned were family hand me downs. But I spent an inordinate amount of time dreaming of a real collection (battery) of hunting rifles. One of the causes of this fixation was an article written by G&A field editor, Bob Milek.
View attachment 485879
Bob had argued he could hunt every species of game in North America with just three rifles. I made different choices than he did, but as soon as I had the cash, I started building my own hunting battery.

My first choice was a Ruger 77 in 270 win topped with a 2.5-8x Leupold gold ring.
The very next month, I bought a Ruger 77RS in 338 with a 1.5-5x Leupold.
Then I added a Remington Wingmaster in 12 ga.