Survivalist Forum banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hello there folks,
I am fairly new to this way of life and this forum but I feel I have made big headway just in the last month with preps. I cannot believe how woefully unprepared I was prior to coming here. For that I thank you.

My current question has to do with how much money, in cash, people keep for emergencies. Assuming cash will still be king, at least at the beginning of a disaster, is there a general rule for how much to have on hand? Are there other forms of currency that you all are acquiring in place of cash?

I am ready to be educated!!! Thanks!

·
Super Moderator
Psalm 34:4
23,558 Posts
I don't think cash will be more than neatly decorated toilet paper within the next year.
That's why I'm spending it now on food, guns, and ammo. Why save something that will be worthless soon.

·
"Dolt"
3,265 Posts
Hello there folks,
I am fairly new to this way of life and this forum but I feel I have made big headway just in the last month with preps. I cannot believe how woefully unpreoared I was prior to coming here. For that I thank you.

My current question has to do with how much money, in cash, people keep for emergencies. Assuming cash will still be king, at least at the beginning of a disaster, is there a general rule for how much to have on hand? Are there other forms of currency that you all are acquiring in place of cash?

I am ready to be educated!!! Thanks!
My personal rule is a minimum of 6 months living expenses. This include house payments, utilities, car payments, food, gas, and if you have them credit card payment.

Again this is bare minimum, it takes planing on your part, and time to save as most can not just drop this amount of cash into a safe over night.

On top of this minimum you need to consider extra for things like car repairs, home repairs, possible medical expenses, etc. Work on the 3 months then work up from there.

IMHO

·
Registered