Survivalist Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
145 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
im new to canning and not too computer savy, i tried to search for it but couldnt find it, my question is if i buy the large cans(6 1/2lb) of say diced tomatos, could i can them into quart size jars? didnt know if they would be good thru a second canning. the reason i ask is i can get the large cans extremely cheap, but once i open them the rest has to be used rather quickly, would like to put some back for a rainy day

·
Registered
1,468 Posts
Not too sure. I would think recanning them would make them mushy. Ive just been stockpiling diced tomatoes and when I open them, I'll be making sauce. I only can fresh tomatoes, to me it doesnt make sense to open a can to recan the contents. There are a lot of experts here though, someone will know!

·
Registered
517 Posts
Yes. You can re-can tomatoes. In fact, some of the canning mixes (i.e. Mrs. Wages, Ball) have instructions for using canned tomatoes to make salsa or sauce for re-canning. If you "like" Ball on facebook, you might get a coupon. I got one last week for $1.00 off.

Because I don't know how acidic the store canned tomatoes are, you may want to pressure can them, though. Or add vinegar or lemon juice and water bath them.

·
Registered
5,721 Posts
I recanned tomatoes for salsa a few weeks ago. My salsa mix bag got attacked by a curious kitten (don't ask me how she got a hold of it) and so I had to use it up (I guess I could have put in in a jar or another bag).

Now if you're going to just re-can it exactly as is without making anything out of it, you might want to consider if it's cheaper just to leave it as is.

Quart jars are going to run you about 80¢ each, plus the cost of energy and the time involved. If you can get one of your cans into 2 jars, that's $1.60+, and 3 jars would be $2.40+.

·
Registered
517 Posts