Survivalist Forum banner
1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
MyPrepperLife
6,333 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am preparing to create a small PV system this summer. I think I want to do it in a way that is kind of unusual, mainly because I already own and understand how to use some of components that can be utilized for part of the system.

I am a novice when it comes to electricity. I have been educating myself, but I have a lot to learn.

I have come up with the following (tentative) design.

PANELS: four Grape Solar 160W Monocrystalline panels (amperage 8.65, voltage 18.5)

BATTERIES, CHARGE CONTROLLERS, INVERTERS: I own two Goal Zero Yeti 400 power packs. Each of these consists of a case containing: a PWM charge controller, a 12V 36 Ah battery, a 12V output port, two USB output ports, two AC output ports powered by a 300W inverter, an input port that allows you to charge the batteries from any of three sources (AC power from the wall, a 12V source such as a vehicle's cigarette-lighter port, or solar panels). The Yeti 400 also contains various other circuitry and so forth: fuses, status display, etc.

Each Yeti 400 has a plug-and-play way to add more storage by creating a parallel connection to another battery. Ideally that battery would be the same kind of battery that's inside the Yeti 400. One Yeti 400 chained to one of these batteries would allow me to store about 800 watt hours (but not really, because I don't want to draw the batteries down that far - so let's round that down to 500 watt hours). I'm planning to have four Yeti 400s each of which will be chained to one battery, so I'd have maybe 2000 watt hours of storage. This isn't a lot, but given the fact that I've become really adept at conserving electricity, this will probably serve me pretty well for a year or so until I can afford to build a much bigger PV system next year.