Survivalist Forum banner
1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Banned
4,095 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have decided to purchase .223 semi auto rifle as a primary self defense weapon.

I spent 21 years in the military USMC and National Guard so I am very familiar with the military M-16 and with the range and ballistics of the round... which is why i am not going to go with an AK...

I figure it is better to go with what you know.

So my question... which weapon that looks like and functions like the M-16 is the best one to own...

What are the pro and cons of the different makes and models

what should I be considering and looking for??

·
Survivalist
394 Posts
I agree do it now. I would suggest a bushmaster. I have a Bushmaster ar-15 varminater with a free floating barrel and 26" fluted barrel and an eotech site i love it. Only down side is its heavier then the M16s we use in the marine corps. But its made for longer range and hunting. Or i almost got a Rock River they are amazing decently priced ars and they come with a match trigger which alot of ars you have to upgrade. Oh and you can shoot 5.56 through it which not all ars can do since its a hotter round then the .223.
Good Luck.

"Which is heavier a soldiers pack or a slaves chains" Napoleon

·
Registered
9,565 Posts
USMC and United State Army here.

Thank you for your service.

There's a decision to make right off the bat, more relevant as you're a Marine and are more likely use to the 20" barrel version. The vast majority of the rifles in the shops around here and perhaps elsewhere are the M4 like carbines types. They are handier, HOWEVER, if you're more familiar with and can maneuver with the 20" ones more similar to the M16A2 and M16A4's (or whatever they're called now) then you eliminate a lot of concerns regarding lethal effects for whatever ammo you wind up with and you'll have the advantage of range.