Survivalist Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
1,214 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've had a mind to buy something that chambers a 7.62x39 (like a SKS) for some time, now I wish I had done it before the election.

I was talking with a friend who has a large collection of firearms and he suggested I avoid buying an SKS where it involves a dealer due to the paper trail that is generated. He said I should look for a private seller where it is cash over the table, nice to meet you, see ya later!

Does he have a valid point or is it a bit of paranoia? How many of you would walk into a dealer and go through everything to buy a SKS? I'm new to the state I'm in (CT; very liberal state with many gun laws), so I'm still figuring out what hoops I have to jump through.

Thanks!

·
Certifiable
723 Posts
Too much paranoia, now I do not know about the hassles of CN.s gun paperwork though. Check out gunbroker before you buy. They still have some reasonably priced rifles. I hear that the prices are starting to get in the gouge range in some places.

·
Registered
109 Posts
i always figured it was worth a little more ,even though most of the time it was cheaper to buy from a private seller because there is no paper....but i live in illinois and we are called in to the state cops for approval instead of the feds.....the SOBs keep records forever.....as far as SKSs go there are thousands out there....shouldnt be a problem to find a private seller......

·
Registered
1,214 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thanks for the feedback! I went to a gun show this past weekend as was a little disappointed with what I found. It was mostly collectible firearms, knives and ARs. The only SKS's at the show were at 1 booth. One was Chinese and not in the best shape ($375) and the other was a Russian in very nice shape ($575). I noticed the guy filling out paperwork for others who were buying, so it looks like he may have been a dealer. I'm thinking something more like $200-250 anyway.

·