Survivalist Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
66 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Greetings all.
Well, I got inspired to take a short little jaunt out into the woods today after reading some posts by a few of you on testing equipment.

I woke up this morning and it was about 50 degrees and I was in a cloud. Where I am currently staying in Tennessee is on the southern-most extension of the Appalachians on top of a plateau, so we get alot of fogs in the winter that severely reduce visibility. Luckily, I have been roaming the woods around the area for 3 years now and have a very intricate knowledge of about 100 miles or so of trails that zig zag accross about 10,000 acres of upland mixed oak/hickory forest. Being on a plateau, not only do I have access to lakes and streams on top of the plateau, but the coves and plateau hill sides offer old-growth forests that have never been logged and contain some of the largest and oldest trees in the Appalachians. If any of you have been in an old-growth forest, you'll know what I'm talking about. Dense, tall canopy, lots of huge fallen logs, mosses and ferns, lots of dead leaves, and almost no underbrush. Additionally, since the plateau is formed of sandstone on top (sandy soil) and limestone underneath (clay soil), when you travel down these steep, moist coves and hill sides, the vegetation changes as well as the geology.