Survivalist Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am writing this hastily so please forgive the rambling tone:

Over the past few 5+ years I have toyed with the idea of making the travel to my family's property in Colorado and make a go of living out there, you could say it is my life dream as I don't see myself ever being truly happy in society and not being surrounded by untouched wilderness and peace.

I am no outdoors expert by any means but I am a quick learner and I am going prepared with enough calories to fully feed myself through winter (I plan on setting aside money to restock right before winter, hopefully I can get a kill when hunting season comes around), and then supplementing via gardening/preserving/trapping/hunting/fishing in the spring and from then on.

(I'm settings aside 500,000+ calories just for 6-7 months of snowed in, rice, beans, pasta, some canned foods/veggies, flour, cornmeal, oats. That's about 2,300 calories a day, which should be sufficient as I will not be very active and will likely spend most days well insulated and writing. If I kill anything that is just a bonus and I will dry/salt it and make everything last a lot longer, into spring. I am a small guy, hoping to pack on 20 pounds of muscle/body weight before winter to come in at 150/160 at least. I will likely need 3000+ calories/day when active.

I will leave aside another cache of money for resupplying in spring, and hopefully I can make some small cash selling firewood/handyman/ranching for family. I would love to raise rabbits/chickens but I'm unsure if I could find a market for the rabbits (sell them live, as live sales are unregulated, butcher for free after sale) and how I could keep chickens alive in winter, if it was possible. It drops to around 10 degrees in the winter at times.