Survivalist Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Preparing...
1,302 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm really new to all this stuff and there are a few bits that i am confused about. Bugging out is the main one.

When would you do it?
How far away would you go.
What is the ideal place to have as a Bug Out Location?
What do you need at the location?

Any help would be really useful.
Thanks

·
protecter
28 Posts
1,when i could no longer live here without any danger to myself or my daughters
2,@150 miles to my bol
3,depends on what your comfortable with to survive
4,water and fire
this is just my opinion.it all depends on what your trained in and your knowledge.
i dont like the cold but can survive,i believe.
i myself would rather be in the woods than an open area

·
Registered
76 Posts
When would you do it?
When I first started checking into preparedness, I felt that 2012 was going to be a catastrophic climate pole shift. Nowadays, I don't think we even have till 2012 before TSHTF, and I think it'll be more a Great Depression/economic catastrophe, so I've changed my thinking a bit.

IF I had to leave (and I'm more of the mind that I can stay where I am, since there won't be tsunamis burying my Island.... I hope!) I want to go to a rural, wooded area. Looking past the Catskills in NY.

I think that would be ideal, with woods with game to eat, arable land to grow crops, not too densely populated.

If I could prepare a place in advance (unfortunately I cannot), I would probably have it set up with all the necessities... water on the property (stream or well), land for crops, hunting and raising animals, root cellar and large storage rooms filled with food and water, furniture, blankets, means to cook, plumbing (or an outhouse) with lots of fuel, battery, candles set aside for emergencies. Medical supplies. And I'd like it to be out-of-the-way and not well-known.