Survivalist Forum banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Military MOM
4,766 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to this site but not new to prepping. I am a former paramedic and firefighter and my husband and I are both veterans. I have a farm and are self reliant so we are planning on bugging in. However, if is the worst case, we are bugging out to our ranch. So, I thought I was covered and then I realized "What if I am not home, or my hubby is not home when it hits?" Therefore, I have made a bug out bag to get home.
So, I may be taking this to far because I don't see anyone else talking about it, but I think this is something to do, we need to get home before we can bug in. I remember seeing all of the people on 9/11 walking out of New York, and I thought to myself, we could be anywhere when whatever it is hits!
Therefore, I have made a backpack for 3-4 days to get us home. I live in Texas, so it is things we would need in my area. I will post my list and please add anything you think could be helpful.
Small first aid kit (home made)
Ice pack, miracool bandana, pony tail holder, toothbrush and paste, mouthwash (for antiseptic, sm hotel bottles), lotion, bug spray, face masks, gloves, bandages and tape, chap stick, soap (from hotel again), BC powder, neosporin, sewing or stitch kit, maxi pad (bandage for large wound), alcohol preps, ace bandage, sissors. Suncreen, hat, sunglasses, bug spray, rope, pepper spray, fire starter and matches, binoculars, swiss army knife and/or hunting knife, a hand crank flashlight/radio/charger, rain poncho, whistle, money in small bills and quarters, change of socks and undies, 3-4 days of precription medications, immodium, tylenol, lightweight food items like MRE's, power bars, tuna pkgs, trail mix, beef jerky, etc. 6x8 tarp, water, water, water! Let's not forget the weapons if you have them with you. I always keep extra ammo in the car and SUV anyway.