Survivalist Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Banned
4,841 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I knew about the citric acid vs lemi-shine deal as I'm just getting into to doing some ultra-sonic cleaning. The other tips are good, but I rarely use untreated corncob or plain walnut, usually either the green treated corn cob or the walnut w/ rouge added. I also tend to buy in bulk so wasn't paying quite as high price as those in the little containers, but not as cheap as the ones he shows. Anyone know of cheaper options for media like the ones I linked below?

https://www.amazon.com/Lyman-Jumbo-OMedia-Corncob-Pounds/dp/B00URUDWM6/

https://www.amazon.com/Lyman-Large-Tufnut-Reloading-Pounds/dp/B001GX8IFE/

·
Born 120 years too late.
4,500 Posts
THROW a couple capfuls of BRASSO into your media and let it run.

I used it for... ever and it is GREAT.

Reactions: Hammer 1

·
Registered
1,009 Posts
THROW a couple capfuls of BRASSO into your media and let it run.

I used it for... ever and it is GREAT.
Brass is an alloy of copper. (about 70% copper - 30%zinc)

Ammonia dissolves copper.

Brasso contains guess what...

That stuff can leach the copper out of brass leaving it brittle because it contains ammonia.

Bad idea when there are so many ways out there to get brass clean as new faster and easier without it...

·
Registered
2,419 Posts
For vibratory cleaning, might be worth looking at harbor freight...if you can use walnut media. No idea if vibratory can or not tho, or if it’s better or worse than cob. 25 lbs for $25.

It’s harbor freight tho, might mayhaps contain Chinese baby panda toe nails. Who knows? so read reviews, look online for videos & such, I’d wager.

At the same time, It’s walnut shells, so how bad honestly can they fart that up?

———————————————-

For folks who want to wet tumble, check out Southern shine tumblers for steel media.

Little egg shaped chips, smaller than pins, far less expensive. Price depends upon quantity (weight) purchased.