Survivalist Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
BowHunter
2,232 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Season starts here in MT tomorrow, hope to kill my elk first day:thumb::rolleyes:

Anybody else getting ready?

·
Registered
435 Posts
Anybody got some advice on buying a bow? I'm looking for something good but cheap. I have very little knowledge about bows. :(

·
Registered
798 Posts
Anybody got some advice on buying a bow? I'm looking for something good but cheap. I have very little knowledge about bows. :(
All boils down to what you want to spend. Good bows have been being made for about the last 10 years. "I use to work at angler Rod And Sport in St. Clair MI." You can get into a nice used bow that once cost about 800$ for about 200$ now. If you want braggin rights for the next year.....1000-1500$
I personaly have two bows. There both older but still have about 300fps with gold tip carbons and 100gr. muzzys. Save your money for other gear and buy somethin nice thats used. Stick to PSE, Hoyt, Bowtech, Martin, Browning. Dont buy a crazy Onida. They look awsome but parts are a MOTHER GUCKER to get. Best luck man.:thumb:

·
Registered
435 Posts
ok. I was looking for something in the 250 range. wanting it for deer and survival stuff. How do you know your getting a good one? What features should one look for. I know I sound like a moron but i haven't ever really been a bow guy.

·
BowHunter
2,232 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
ok. I was looking for something in the 250 range. wanting it for deer and survival stuff. How do you know your getting a good one? What features should one look for. I know I sound like a moron but i haven't ever really been a bow guy.
Go to a archery shop, they often will have used "trade-in bows" and the shop owner will often help you get a good bow for you, most times as part of the price of the bow.:thumb:

·
BowHunter
2,232 Posts
Discussion Starter #8