Survivalist Forum banner
1 - 20 of 307 Posts

·
Registered
986 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I don't care about who said it or trying to correct them in a thread, sometimes I just want to vent about it and thought a thread devoted to the purpose would be cathartic, entertaining, enlightening and might keep threads from going off track.

The idiom is to "make sense" not "since".

It's not "Must to do about nothing" it's "Much ado about nothing".

·
Non semper erit aestas.
3,918 Posts
It's :
"should've done something." Not "should of done something." "would've done something" not "would of done something." "Could've etc...."

Should've, would've, could've.
Short for "should have, would have, could have."

I'm no expert in music, but perhaps remembering a song title will help - Should've Said No (Taylor Swift).

Wary/weary/leery
(not leary)

If you are wary of something, you are watchful, cautious, alert.

If you are weary of something, you are tired of it. You can also be just plain weary (tired).

If you are leery you are cautious, distrustful, suspicious.

"I was leery of that young man who was hanging around the parking lot. His presence made me wary of possible trouble. When I got home I was so weary I went straight to bed."

I don't correct people on here, because I make my own mistakes. However there are certain errors which are seen over and over and I'm weary of them. :)

Thanks for allowing me to vent!

·
Registered
9,565 Posts
We all make errors and fatigue (I couldn't sleep much tonight) and speed cause problems but there's also mistakes beyond being careless that indicate in some cases, a lack of education, a deliberate negligence of what is correct, or sometimes pure limitations. For some, it's a forced form of 'voice'.

Well, I use it for a credibility gauge.