Survivalist Forum banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
332 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
As I've posted before, I'm a relative newbie when it comes to chickens. I've been raising 6 chickens since they were one day old (March 1st). The chickens seem to be healthy and happy and at least 5 of them are now laying eggs. The chickens are contained in a chicken tractor, which I move every day, essentially giving them fresh grass to free range in each day. I have been feeding them Dumor chicken feed, lettuce, blackberries, strawberries, and oyster shells (since they began laying).

I've had two eggs in the last couple of days (presumably from the same chicken) that have streaks of blood in the egg white. Has anyone else seen this happen? Could this just be because it was this chicken's first couple of eggs? Anything to be concerned about?

·
Registered
5,852 Posts
Nothing to be concerned about at all; just aesthetically not too pleasing. If you don't want to eat it (you could) pour it over the dog's food- he'd appreciate it; or cook it, mash it up and give it to your hens.

·
Bush Walker
4,037 Posts
blood is nothing - slept over a buddy's house as a boy - he raised chickens - breakfast egg cracking produced a partially formed chick......we ate waffles instead

·
Whippersnapper
2,664 Posts
blood is nothing - slept over a buddy's house as a boy - he raised chickens - breakfast egg cracking produced a partially formed chick......we ate waffles instead
Yeeehhh.... not pleasant.
our hens are with the cocks all the time and let them do their own thing- we crack all our eggs into a mug before use for inspection and a sniff check- just in case. we know which ones are sitting etc, but misstakes happen, and cracking a dead chick into your cake mix will give someone a bad day :xeye:

blood in the eggs is not an issue, but if we are giving them to other people we tend to disgard them.

·
Adventurer
19,333 Posts