Survivalist Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Oregon Survivalist
1,786 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just found this article by Steve Chastain; http://bestcentrifuge.com/running_on_waste_oil.pdf

Everything someone might want to know about preparing waste/used motor oil for use in a diesel engine.
I have been thinking about this for sometime. I even remember seeing an episode from "Doomsday Preppers" where a fellow was collecting used motor oil for use in his BOV/deuce-and-a-half. I would anticipate using it in a fixed diesel gen-set like a Lister type engine perhaps with a belt drive generator, or in farm vehicles.

The author does promote the idea of heating and centrifuging the oil and going here ;http://bestcentrifuge.com/shop
shows that your initial start-up using this process is going to be expensive.

As a layman i would have to weigh how much i am spending on fuel for my gas guzzler now and how much i would want to preserve the health/longevity of my vehicles especially in grid-down situation where parts and repair may not be available against that start up cost.

Has anyone here had experience with the author's process or another technique for using waste motor oil as a fuel?

·
Registered
1,221 Posts
Lots have been written about using old motor oil!
It serms to work best in older mechanical injected diesels
Some have had bad results with newwer diesels
buying a centrifuge is a major investment and not worth it to me!

·
Registered
6 Posts
I have a friend who swears by mixing the used oil with water using a paint mixer, then letting it all settle, he claims it removes most of the particles from the oil.. Just a thougth!

·
Registered
40 Posts