Survivalist Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Klaatu Brarada Nikto
791 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok, as you can tell by my question I'm new to this and I'm looking for a good all around book that can be thrown into the 'to-go" package, and for research material.

Willing to buy more than one if they cover the most important items, or are written by survival gurus that must be included in everyone's library.

Surely this will help us newB's here so keep the suggestions coming, and any data that can lead us to the best prices for these books.

Also, any books that may contain lists of edible plants would be helpful too.

Thanks.

This type of thread may even be worthy of a 'sticky', but I'll let the admins do their job.

·
Registered
146 Posts
There are a ton of books on survival. I have read quite a few, to me it seems that they break down into three catagories: Wilderness survival, Pre-post shtf prep survival and related survival topics i.e. gardening,shooting,livestock.

Here are my three favorite in those catagories:

Wilderness survival- Hawkes Green Beret Survival Manuel By Mykel Hawke.

Amazon.com: Mykel Hawke's Green Beret Survival Manual: Essential Strategies For: Shelter and Water, Food and Fire, Tools and Medicine, Navigation and Signaling, Survival Psychology and Getting Out Alive! (9780762433582): Mykel Hawke: Books

This book has a lot of information. It is very well laid out and also has a bit of humor. You could also go with the SAS Survival Handbook by John Wiseman but I like Hawkes just a hair more. It is written from an American view(Hawke) instead of a British viewpoint (Wiseman).
But you would be fine with either.

Pre-post shtf prep survival: Crisis Preparedness Handbook by Jack A. Spigarelli

Amazon.com: Crisis Preparedness Handbook: A Comprehensive Guide to Home Storage and Physical Survival (9780936348070): Jack A. Spigarelli: Books