Survivalist Forum banner

1 - 20 of 43 Posts

·
Winter is coming.
2,898 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I live in Australia and due to gun laws here i'm not permitted to own a semi-automatic rifle as i'm not a primary producer. I've decided to go for a lever action rifle as an all purpose gun.

What i intend to use the rifle for is club target shooting and feral animal hunting (rabbits, foxes, goats, maybe pigs). This would also be my 'SHTF' rifle, but that is definately a secondary priority. I want to use the rifle regularily as a tool not as a 'fantasy gun' sitting in the safe in case zombies attack.

With that in mind what would y'all recommend?

Cheers

·
Ephemerally here
6,875 Posts
My Model 336 Marlin, in .35 Remington, had the stuffing beat out of it before I got it. It is Ugly, and Worn, but it continues to work flawlessly. I would think that if you found a good Marlin in .30-30, you would be well served, and Your Daughter/Son, and Their Kid(s), and...

·
Peacemaker....
538 Posts
Ruger gunsight scout? .308 Durable, standardized round, Bolt-action, and takes magazines.

It has the ability to be quite effective out of the box or you can put a few accesories on it with out it being tacticool. Look up the pictures of them on startpage and see if thats up your alley.

·
Death's Collection Agent
4,354 Posts
My Model 336 Marlin, in .35 Remington, had the stuffing beat out of it before I got it. It is Ugly, and Worn, but it continues to work flawlessly. I would think that if you found a good Marlin in .30-30, you would be well served, and Your Daughter/Son, and Their Kid(s), and...
I saw a 30-30 Marlin at Wally World the other day for less than $400, before taxes.

·
Registered
2,295 Posts