Survivalist Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'll be the first to admit that I'm a newb when it comes to firearms. So I'm sure I'll catch some flack on here, but what ever. I'm looking into purchasing my first firearm. I'm really leaning towards the Beretta Cx4. I'm just not sure what caliber to get. It is gonna be mainly for defense and maybe some hunting. I'm just looking for a few pluses and minuses with each caliber it comes in. Hopefully some people that actually own one will help me out.

·
May *** help us all.
258 Posts
IMO the CX4 is a solid gun, but as a first firearm, IMO it doesn't really do anything particularly well. If you want a small game hunting gun, get a .22LR. Handguns are the easiest to cart through the home and operate one-handed, plus it may give you ccw options down the road. Shotguns are the ultimate in HD versatility, and the carbine (.223 or .308) is my personal go-to defense gun.

SO IMO the CX4 doesn't fit any of those niches very well... if you wanna shoot a handgun cartridge, grab a flashlight and the handgun and go to work. But if I mean business, I'm grabbing something with some more oomph.

My vote is ditch the idea of trying to do everything with your first gun. Get comfortable with shooting and it won't be long before you need a bigger safe. And please, get some formal training and be safe.

·
Registered
2,117 Posts