Survivalist Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
10,548 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So, I guess thats as basic a Question that I can ask. Should I be putting the Ashes from my BBQ into my Compost Bin?
This is my first Year taking Gardening seriously, and I have learned so much here.
Just like to hear some info on how others have gotten along with adding BBQ Ashes to their Compost.

Any info or Thoughts will be appreciated, as I'm kinda' new at the whole Gardening thing. Not ashamed to admit it, I just want to learn, so please no Flaming.:confused:

·
Just the facts, Ma'am.
2,070 Posts
I would think that it would make it harder for your compost pile to work. It would turn the environment basic, which might be detrimental to the bacteria and other critters that breakdown wastes. I have read that some doesn't hurt. Do you use briquettes or whole chunk charcoal? Ashes from whole chunk could be used to make sodium hydroxide for soap making. Look that up on the internet, and I'll bet you find some methods and recipes for that!

·
Premium Member
1,823 Posts
Charcoal is the product of burned wood, with a few other additives. As wood ash is compostable, this is also true of other wood products, including charcoal. There are 2 conditions to this. First, the charcoal itself should be basic wood. Beware of preservatives and other additives to make the product burn. For example, some charcoal burns the wood, leaving only a ‘binder’ chemical as the ash that is not suitable for composting.

The second condition is that wood ash itself may only be used in composts to a limited degree—around 1 cup per foot of compost—as large amounts of wood result in a loss of nitrogen in the soil. As with wood ash, only use a similar cupful of ash for each foot of compost. So long as you don’t barbeque every day, however, charcoal BBQ ash is perfectly safe to put into your compost pile or bin.