Survivalist Forum banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
53 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hi all, there is a BLM campground near me that is very pretty and cheap to camp at. The only water source is a creek that runs through it. All throughout the campground are signs that say it is not recommended for children to camp there as it is located on an old asbestos mine. The park ranger said it is okay to drink the water out of the creek, but I always filter water from anywhere before I drink it anyways. I was just wondering what you all think, is there any concern that there could still be asbestos in the creek? Is there anything that would filter out asbestos? Just curious what others opinions are on this. So far I have just been bringing my own water from home, but for long camping trips that is a lot of trouble. I do know that the asbestos could be in the soil around as well, but I don't know why the thought of drinking it just bothers me.

·
Hunter/Survivor
1,036 Posts
Im no expert but I would assume that any asbestos would sink into the silt of the creek but I wouldn't mess with that water.... personally, I don't know why BLM doesn't seal that mine shaft opening so there can be no disruption of the asbestos.
I camp on the eastern sierras side and there are a lot of mines but I have not seen Asbestos signs, which is a good thing....

·
Curmudgeon
1,749 Posts
Asbestos is really only a danger when its been molested and is an airborne dust. If pieces are large enough to see, they probably won't murder you in your sleep. Having said that, it only takes one eeinie little tiny particle breathed into your lungs to kill you. It might take 100 years, but you're doomed.

And by my understanding of asbestos, ingesting some (wether eaten or drunk) will not hurt you. Its the lungs.

·
reluctant sinner
17,545 Posts