Survivalist Forum banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Banned
2,077 Posts
Listen, who cares how hard it might be, just go and learn this invaluable art and DRIVE ON. If your ever planning on doing this thing called SURVIVAL then this is the school to attend. I hear it's not that tough if you can Man Up. Look, it's all just a state of mind and games, get past the the game part and then you'll be learning something valuable and besides, in this day and age these are the tools your gonna wanna know if TSHTF (cause if the SHTF playin ARMY will seem like childs play). It bothers me when someone asks how hard somethings gonna be going into it, it's almost as if they wanna quit before they start:mad:. Any hoot don't mean to sound like a rag.

DRIVE ON B-OUT

·
Outdoorsman
78 Posts
I graduated from both phases and worked there in the mid 90's.

It was an awesome experience and you will learn alot.

If you can carry a ruck weighing between 55-80lbs in rough terrain for two weeks you should be good to go. They cover basic mountaineering skills, a ton of ropework and a few climbing evolutions. They will also teach you about high alpine survival. Remember the course is really about teamwork and leadership. The academic and hands on tests are challenging but when you add in the physical stress of your daily ruck marches and climbs it wil really let you know where your at mentally.

All I can say is if you've never rappelled at night under NVGs with your full combat load you haven't really lived.

·
Registered
1 Posts
AMWS

I attended both phases of the basic course in 2005. It aint Ranger school, but it isnt a walk in the park either. Most days start with a 1-2 mile ruck to the training sites. Not too bad distance-wise, but there is usually a 800-1000 foot elevation change in the short distance.