Survivalist Forum banner
1 - 20 of 58 Posts

·
Registered
663 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am looking at an email invoice right now for the 12 oz of silver (12 one-ounce bars) that I bought last year in June and it cost me $208.24 (including shipping/handling).

I went back to the same website and the same 12 bars would now cost $256.96. I don't know anything about precious metals. Do they go up and down in value? Or is the price just going to keep going up?

I was a stay-at-home mom for a few years and didn't have money to prep even though I wanted to so badly. I've been working for six months now and have been saving money and prepping (my husband is so not into it) and now that I have a steady income I was thinking of buying precious metals but is now the right time? or is the good time to buy silver over now?

Are you still buying silver?

·
Registered
296 Posts
I wouldn't purchase over the internet. Always buy from a local dealer or Flea Market. I would choose Coins (Test of Time) over Bullion/Coins from 2009/10.

Silver will drop in price, before rising. Problem will be availability. You can either time it correctly or take a small loss in the near term for availability.

Morgans, Peace and Liberty Dollars purchased Yesterday.

·
Registered
2,688 Posts
Long term, gold and silver are almost always good buys. Yes they fluctuate in the short term but they are a good defense against inflation, which is almost surely right around the corner . . .

I can't positively say whether or not right NOW is a great time to buy. I think there's a pretty good chance we'll see silver & gold drop a bit once the Fed raises interest rates this summer.

·
Registered
450 Posts