Survivalist Forum banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
1,562 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok all you AR experts out there......
I am mounting a 2 point sling on my rifle... the question where to mount it?

Some of the military operators I am seeing on youtube attach the sling near the end of the barrel and others mount it half way up the forend.

I am not an expert in AR combat tactics but do understand and have taken training on using a sling to stabilize your shot.

In the end is this just a personal preference thing or does one offer and advantage over the other?

HK

·
Registered
16,580 Posts
It's personal, and it depends on several things, like do you do the hasty sling thing, do you have a vertical grip, do you ever swap it to a single point, do you carry it on your shoulder like your dad carried a bolt gun, or do you sling it across your back with the barrel down.... etc., etc.

·
Registered
1,562 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I am familiar with the hasty system. The rifle is bare except for a red dot optic......no other bling. My thoughts are to carry it a way for quickest access and easiest target acquisition. I am familiar with these rifles, I do train, but they are not my first choice when I head out to the range for a number of reasons.

HK

·
Premium Member
1,290 Posts
Totally personal preference. I use two points on my AR's and other rifles. What kind of fore end do you have? If it's MLOK it's easy to attach a sling swivel. Magpul makes a good one with their QD swivel. There's also various ways to attach to the front sight post. It just depends what you like and what works best for you.

Attachments

·
What hell, pay attention
8,988 Posts
I use a two point and like the front part of the sling more forward than back. I also prefer them mounted on the inboard side. I dont normally set them up as a shooting sling, but as a carry sling.

For the guns that have a front sight tower, I use one of the GG&G mounts.....