Survivalist Forum banner
1 - 20 of 51 Posts

·
Si Vis Pacem, Para Bellum
13,737 Posts
I'm still learning how to use it as I have no team. There is also a server system that I have downloaded Called ZeroTier ( Download – ZeroTier) That allows you to securely connect remote devices. But again, I have no team to connect to.

·
Registered
664 Posts
I use ATAK here and there for general navigation. Definitely a great tool to have on hand and I'm planning on putting it onto a larger tablet in my truck for overlanding navigation. But I work in rural areas that have little to no cell service and It makes downloading massive areas of SAT imagery with good resolution easy for offline use when I'm trying to get to a site that I'm unfamiliar with. I have a few counties worth of map downloaded now, but I'll probably add more at some point. If I'm not mistaken, this was the software that replaced the ruggedized tablet that we used for area fire weapon systems and CAS when I was in the Marine Corps, or something very similar. So it's got a lot of capability. I also know that some people figured out how to link a Baofeng radio to it to track teammate movement and send digital comms back and forth. The tutorial is out there somewhere.

·
Registered
1,037 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
I'm still learning how to use it as I have no team. There is also a server system that I have downloaded Called ZeroTier ( Download – ZeroTier) That allows you to securely connect remote devices. But again, I have no team to connect to.
ill have to check that out...thanks but you can leverage many of ATAK strengths without a team. its great to compile and store geo data for your surrounding area also..

·
Registered
1,037 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·