Survivalist Forum banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Has anybody tried using a sleepingbag liner? I have a good +20 degree mummy bag, but want it to be useful at lower temps. I dont plan on using it in sub-zero temps, but want a little more out of it without getting a new one. It said that they can add 10 degrees to your existing sleeping bag.

·
Destroyer of Karen
11,279 Posts
I always use one, not only does it add a bit of warmth it protects your bag from the oils from your skin.

Winter time I use a fleece liner and summer I use a silk liner.

Sometimes in the summer all I take is the liner without the bag.

I have heard good things about using "coolmax" like this

I have some extra laying around I might just make my own to give it a shot

·
Registered
89 Posts
Fleece blankets. Keeps you warmer, its light, dries fast, and makes sleeping in a damp sleeping bag much more comfortable.

·
Registered
338 Posts
I have a fleece liner that I use with my ~20yr old North Face Cats Meow. The bag was losing some loft but I didn't want to replace it. I ended up getting a fleece liner for ~$50 and never looked back. On warm nights I can sleep in the the liner on top of the bag. On cold nights I get in both. A worthy investment.

·
cleaning crew
3,113 Posts
sleeping liner is recommended if you have a goose down bag. the reason is that you would wash the liner instead of the bag, thus making your bag last longer.

i use a liner in all my bags. whether it's a store bought one or a flat sheet.

·
Born to prep
3,728 Posts
I just pack a bed sheet with mine to use as a liner.
A sleeping bag cover will also help. They help keep your bag dry, clean and trap a layer of air around the bag. There has been a few times in the winter that I have used two covers and that helped a lot.

·
Registered
53 Posts
+1 on using a sleeping bag liner.

It is much easier to throw the liner in the wash than to have to wash the whole bag.