1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Super Moderator
Psalm 34:4
23,314 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm a guy.

I'm a good cook.

I've never cooked Leg of Lamb and need a good recipe...

Any suggestions?

:)

·
Registered
882 Posts
im not much of a cook but not picky eather just poor a little beer on it and keep plenty going around while its cooking and you should be set

·
Hunter/Farmer
1,947 Posts
Brine overnight in a salt/sugar solution: 1/4 cup of each/gallon of cold water.

Then make slits all over and stuff with garlic slivers.

Rub with oil and lightly sprinkle with cracked black pepper, salt.

Sear over medium grill for about 30 mins to seal the meat, then wrap with alum foil with some rosemary sprinkled on it.

Finish cooking the wrapped lamb in oven or smoker at 250-325 for about 4 hrs.

·
Wild Edibles Expert
10,167 Posts
I prefer the entire lamb on a spit but... here is a Greek way from a Greek:

6/7 pound leg of lamb, 1/2 cup olive oil, juice of four lemons, 1/4 teaspoon each of thyme, rosemary, basil, oregano, 10 peeled garlic cloves.

Remove fell from leg of lamb, piece leg in several places and insert a garlic clove in each incision. Put in pan, pour olive oil over it, rub in. Sprinkle all over with the spices, squeeze the lemons over the leg, marinate overnight. Heat oven to 450F, bake uncovered for 30 minutes, lower the temperature to 350F and cook until tender. OPA!

·
trois pour cent
5,942 Posts
Good chops on the grill recipe and pics. I really like this one:
Lamb Chops

And here's a simple one for roast:
Roast Lamb Rack Ingredients
1 Rack of lamb
1/2 tsp Cracked pepper
2 tbs Olive oil
1/4 tsp Oregano
1 tsp sea salt
1/4 tsp Basil
1/2 tsp Rosemary
1/4 tsp Paprika
1/4 tsp Garlic Powder

Remove back bone from meat. Preheat oven to 400. Trim all fat. Trim meat from top & in between each bone. Crack at joint. Rub meat with oil. Sprinkle with seasonings & salt. Roast 30 minutes. Serve with Mint Jelly.

·
Whippersnapper
2,664 Posts
Do it the welsh way!