Survivalist Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
5,855 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I came across an article on growing ginger, so bought some organic ginger root today. I've read to soak it overnight, and how to plant, etc, but I'm wondering if anyone here grows their own.

It doesn't seem to be able to grow outside all year in my area, so I'll be planting in a pot and taking it outside for the summer. Any other tricks to this plant?

·
Registered
189 Posts
I am no expert at agricultural pursuits but here is what works for me in zone 7B in the western NC foothills. I live in what is referred to as the Unifour.

I have grown ginger for the past 4-5 years in pots. Here in the humid foothills, it is an easy, low-maintenance plant. I've had better luck growing it than most of my food plants around here and have never managed to kill it through ineptness, lack of time, etc. The deer and wildlife do not bother it but I keep it close to the house.

When I started growing this plant, I bought a couple ginger roots at an Asian market. These were natural roots that had not been sprayed with anti-sprout chemicals and were fresh. Ginger roots bought from Food Lion or such probably would not sprout. I have not tried a grocery store bought ginger root so I do not know if it is viable.

I planted one root each in two 2 gallon pots. I now have four pots worth of them and harvest them in the Fall, keeping just enough ginger root to start the next years crop. I do not use a lot of it, and being that it is just me, four pots is more than sufficient to grow enough to cook with on occasion for a year. Think of each 2 gallon pot as being good for 4-10 normal size ginger roots depending on the weather, amount of water, temps, etc. "Normal size" being what you would typically see in the store produce section.