Survivalist Forum banner

1 - 20 of 75 Posts

·
Live Secret, Live Happy
15,529 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I moved to my ranch land in the Ozarks this month in 2015. We moved a small flock of red sheep, and our guardian dogs with us.
I also work as a volunteer for the Fire Dpt, meaning I help search for lost hunters in the brushy forest hills and hollows.

In the last five years, I have seen a big cross section of the local animals. The area is absolutely over run with white tail deer, feral hogs, and coyotes. I have also seen several large Black Bears in the late spring thru fall months, Raccoon, Bobcats, Grey Fox, Armadillos, and a large black cat the locals call a Panther.

I used to live in the Eastern Sierra of California, and I am familier with Mountain Lions, and Black Bears, but Panthers are new to me. Several online sources have suggested these animals simply dont exist, but I've been struggling to keep one from eating my livestock, ever since I arrived. I have seen it four times, now, and each time it is bigger and more skilled at hunting.

I dont know exactly what a Panther is, but I have figgured out what it is not. First, its not a black house cat and not a bobcat. The one I have seen weighs over 100 lbs and has a tail over half the length of its body. It is also pure black, with no trace of a spots.

These large black cats are widely seen in Texas, Oklahoma, Arkansas, and Southern Missouri, and they grow larger, and more heavily mussled than a typical mountain lion. I suspect they become specialized at hunting feral hogs, since the seem to follow the same rivers the hogs now occupy. They grow larger, and can purr like a house cat, and I suspect the panther is a black phase subspecies of the Jaguar. Since the Jags moved into west Texas 20 yrs ago, I would not be supprised if the simply followed the Red and Canadian River into my area.