Survivalist Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Enjoying Life
620 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just wondering if anyone has ever stored Gas in the 55 gal plastic drums and also what would the storage life be in the drum. Or are there other cheap ways.

·
Doomsayer
4,048 Posts
You would need Sta-Bil.

They claim it will keep gas fresh for 12 months when mixed into fresh gasoline. Doubling the dosage will keep fuel fresh for up to 2 years.

One ounce of STA-BIL Fuel Stabilizer for every 2-½ gallons of gasoline, gasoline/oil mixtures, or ethanol blends is the recommended dosage level.

Storing a bunch of gasoline is not in my preps, but that is just me.

·
Enjoying Life
620 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks for the info Kregener, I had forgot about Sta-bil. I am also working on the long term items also. Im new to the long haul but puting my ax to the grind stone.

·
Registered
54 Posts
I have used gas that was stored for over 2 years with the normal amount of Sta-bil. I used some in a Honda generator and the rest in my car with no ill effects. I suspect it would have gone another 6 months at least, but after 2 years I wanted to replace it. A few years ago I had a 2 gallon can that had Sta-bil in it that was over 3 years old. It had a lot of sediment in the bottom of the can. Given that, I conclude the shelf life, under the conditions where I store gas, is between 2 1/2 and 3 years.

I keep about 20 gallons around, mostly for the generator when the power goes out in the winter. Last year we were out for 3 days in late December. I store it in 5 gal. plastic gas cans. It's more portable then a single, large container.

·
Doomsayer
4,048 Posts
can you elaborate?

T
I believe overlordsshadow is saying that trying to store a BUNCH of gasoline so you can 'drive around' after the S hits TF is not really wise. I agree.

Several 55 gallon drums of gas sitting next to your house would not be a wise idea...to me, anyway.