Survivalist Forum banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,

I am new to being a survivalist but not new to owning guns. I've grown up around them and am very familiar with their usage. However my family never did store large quantities of ammo until recently. I own a 12 gauge Mossberg Maverick 88 and have now stockpiled over 500 rounds in military surplus ammo cans. Now when I bought the cans I checked to make sure they were in good condition and checked the rubber gasket that seals the lid. Even ran a water hose over each can prior to filling them to test the seal. Never have had a problem and my ammo still looks as new as the day I bought them. However I only started this about 8 months ago.

My questions are; how long will ammo store like that? Is there anything else I can do to improve my ammo storage? Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks!
dustman1089

·
Farm Security for Hire
305 Posts
I'm not exactly an expert either, but I have some theories. My problem is that I take the easy way out with my AK ammo by buying it in the factory sealed 640 rnd tins, and I tend to burn through my pistol ammo faster than I can buy it (I'm slowly making headway, though.)

Here are some things I plan on doing when I start storing ammo long term. Other than keeping it in ammo cans, that is.

- I'll probably separate the ammo into 50 or 100 rnd plastic baggies for convenience, but this will add another layer of protection.

- Silica packets. Or a comparable product. Something that'll absorb moisture/oxygen. I'm still in the research phase on this front.

- Rotating. Obviously I'm going to train with my weapons. So I just have to set it up that as I buy ammo, I take the oldest stuff to train with and put the new stuff on the shelf. Which is kind of what I'm doing now, but in excellerated fashion. I need to ease up on the practicing for a while and focus more on the stocking part.

·
Stargazer Extraordinaire
1,061 Posts