Survivalist Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Banned
9,363 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm no expert on Russian arms. So I'll ask the experts here. My Arsenal SGL-31 came with the US made muzzle brake for the 922 compliance. I'm looking at possibly getting an actual Russian style.....or as close to the Russian as I can get but not familiar with the different style brakes.

Here is the US made Arsenal brake:

Here is an "East German" chrome-lined brake with cut "zig-zag" style:

Or how about something more modern like this Midway brake:

http://www.midwayusa.com/product/45...brake-m14x10-lh-thread-ak-47-ak-74-steel-blue

Who has experience with these and is there any noticeable difference between them? Which is the closest to the real-deal Russian and does it make much difference?

·
Banned
9,363 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
The midway one is a POS.
Thanks. Perfect kind of feedback I was looking for.

E German is good
Yours is probably fine, is it 24mm reverse thread or 14mm?
Honestly, I have no idea.....whatever the Arsenal comes standard with.

Site says:

"24x1.5 right-hand threads, muzzle brake"

I would check out К-VAЯ
I'm always on that site buying mags and parts when I can!

:thumb:

·
Chains keep us together.
22,136 Posts
Someone made one in stainless steel, I forget who, it was something like
USABreak. Anyone know the site?
They made one in 22mm for the Romanian front sight post which is different from the others that use 24mm.

I think your Arsenal is a good one.

·
Registered
1,279 Posts
I have the arsenal,Russian and Bulgarian and cant tell them apart when shooting,they all functioned the same.
But if you feel the need
http://www.theakforum.net/phpBB3/viewforum.php?f=27&sid=417c03c73c12fcaecdd4e1ab2853b887
Become a member here and you will find that what you seek for your AK.