Survivalist Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm getting ready to move to Wisconsin and I'm planning on deer hunting this year. I can only afford to buy one long gun prior to hunting season. If anyone has any advice on why one would be better than the other, please let me know. Here are the three I'm considering:

Remington 870: I can pick one up for about $350, I can use it for pheasant hunting and home defense as well.

Ruger Mini Thirty: More expensive but I feel more comfortable taking down a deer with a rifle. Short enough overall length to use in the brush or home defense.

Remington 783 30-06: Cheaper than the Mini Thirty, comes with a scope, and I could use it for hunting big game out west. Not so great for home defense.

I'd appreciate any good advice on this, thanks.

·
Hating the new Amerika.
2,856 Posts
Are those the only choices? What is your budget? I am not a gun expert like a lot of others on here, but I have heard the Ruger Mini 30 is not that accurate. Do you have enough money to get enough ammo, an optic, and extra magazines?

·
Live Secret, Live Happy
15,784 Posts
What are the hunting regs in Wisconsin? Some of the states in that area restrict you to shotguns or black powder only.

If allowed, I believe you would get more use out of a bolt action rifle in 270, 308, or 30-06.

If money is tight, I would buy a used commercial gun like a Ruger, Remngton, Browning, or Winchester.

Then I would save up enough for a 12 ga shotgun for the squirrles, ducks, and pheasants.

·
Registered
11,023 Posts
Savage Axis is decent and fairly cheap. Around 400. Doesn't have the really good trigger though but the stock one isn't completely horrible.

·
Registered
920 Posts