Survivalist Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Wild Edibles Expert
10,167 Posts
Good site but I think some of his advice is off a bit.... there are two ways to process acorns, with or without high heat. That influences the final base product. Cold leaching does not cook the starch in the acorn so it can be used as a thickener in soups, stews, or as a binder in meatloaf and breads. Hot water leaching cooks the starch eliminating the binding capacity. Also, if the temperature is not kept constantly hot, finish to end, the starch will bind with the tannins and the mash will be forever bitter.

·
Krazy Kitty
5,007 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Well this first batch I poured boiling water over it. It's been setting for about an hour. I think the next one I will add some sea salt and do it with cold water. This is my first try so we'll see how it comes out. After they're dried I'm thinking of making a coating for baked chicken breasts. Just need to figure out which spices to use. Maybe also have some kind of honey sauce too.

·
Scarred for life...
3,295 Posts
How many gallons does it take to make 6 pounds of nutmeat?

A friend of mine got his grand kids out in the yard to pick them up and he has something like 42 gallons...

·
Registered
18,814 Posts
I have tried processing acorns before and found the full of mealy worms. On a yahoo wild edible list I asked if anyone else had this problem and everyone said yes. I was hoping to find someone who was gathering them without this problem so I could see what I was doing wrong.

What kind of oak trees do you gather from? Do you gather them from the forest floor, shake them loose from the tree, or are you brave enough to climb up and get them? I haven't been brave enough to try that yet.:eek::

I'm thinking in a survival situation I would process them mealy worms and all and just consider them extra protein, but right now I'd love to learn how to NOT have worms in them.

Thanks for any advice.

Tury

·
Wild Edibles Expert