Survivalist Forum banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
pseudo-conformist
831 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been gathering acorns and growing them with my son for a few years now, then planting the saplings the following year in stealth-like missions around the hedgerows of Devon & Cornwall!
Anyway, after reading up about it a bit I'm gonna try storing, drying, grinding, leaching (to remove tanning) and cooking with this starchy resource for the first time this year. Total experiment but potentially very useful as they're an abundant annual supply if you know your local tree's.
Has anyone done this before, any tips, advice, comments, cooking idea's?

I'll share my results when I do it but we've got a little while to wait for the moment, they're nearly ready to start dropping :)

Cheers

·
pseudo-conformist
831 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Found this in an "emergency bread" thread...
Just as an aside, we made acorn meal about two years ago. It is a lot of work, but like putting up beans or making jam, is worth it.
We gathered acorns from Black or Rred oak, they were big, and therefore VERY tannic. Smaller ones from White oak (I think) were less tannic. Probably gathered 2 five gallon buckets-full over the season. We smacked each nut with a meat tenderizer, pulled off the shell, and ran the meats through a nut grinder. I put a bowl full of ground meats in the sink, and let it run on the slowest stream into the bowl, for 24-48 hours, stirring now and again. If I could eat some of the meats, they were leached of tannin far enough. I then dried them in the oven till brown and mostly dry (suggest dehydrator here). I ground the dried meats in a coffee grinder. The result was two five# honey jars full of a silky fine coca powder colored meal. 3-4 T per 2 loaf batch of bread was good. We have kept this deep frozen, still have some left.