Survivalist Forum banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Premium Member
9,224 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
How many of us in North America or Europe would take the jobs South Koreans are now being forced to take in this bad economy?

http://www.nytimes.com/2009/07/07/world/asia/07pride.html?ref=global

After 9-11 I worked for over a year sorting international packages for UPS. I was a TV producer and writer.

Initially I resented it. Soon, I felt lucky to have the work, enjoyed my comrades and found pride in doing this work. I also discovered how many others working with me were capable of doing so much more.

I also worked in the nursery department at Home Depot, mainly lifting and loading 50-pound bags of manure and topsoil into customer's vehicles. That is humbling.

What kind of manual labour are you willing to do?

·
Registered
80 Posts
How many of us in North America or Europe would take the jobs South Koreans are now being forced to take in this bad economy?

After 9-11 I worked for over a year sorting international packages for UPS. I was a TV producer and writer.

Initially I resented it. Soon, I felt lucky to have the work, enjoyed my comrades and found pride in doing this work. I also discovered how many others working with me were capable of doing so much more.

I also worked in the nursery department at Home Depot, mainly lifting and loading 50-pound bags of manure and topsoil into customer's vehicles. That is humbling.

Whatever it takes!

·
Registered
2,921 Posts
I'm willing to do it to keep from starving, but I fear I'll be bad at it. I'm not the most graceful person.

·
Registered
7,224 Posts
Wasn't too long ago I was a mechanic.
I have painted houses.
Driven truck.
Construction.
Machinist.
Auto parts retail.
As a property manager do a lot of menial labor as it is.

·
Registered
18,814 Posts