Survivalist Forum banner
1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm so delighted to have found this forum! Now if I could just find a few like-minded folks in the Hampton Roads area (where I live). Surely in my metropolis of two million people, there are a few preppers.

But I digress.

I'm a middle-aged woman, a professional writer, hard-core libertarian and like so many on this board, I've been working since I was 12 years old. To see 45% of my hard-earned dollars taxed away and given away to the government is very frustrating.

Over the last 20 years, I've owned several small businesses and if I were queen of the world (and it shouldn't be long now), I'd insist that everyone successfully start up and run a small business before working in the government - at any level.

Too many people in the state and federal government are CLUELESS about life in the real world. But I digress (again).

Because of my years as an entrepreneur, I feel like I can see the writing on the wall, and the writing on the wall says that you can not sustain a household, a business, or a government when interest on the debt consumes more than 50% of all income.

And it makes me CRAZY how so many Americans seem to know virtually nothing about history, and they don't understand that throughout history, world powers have risen - and fallen. We're following - play by play - the textbook example of how a world power falls into the dust. How can people not understand that? Grrrrrr.

America's hegemony: It was nice while it lasted.

Anyway - I worry about the future. The America of my youth (1960s and 70s) seems like a distant memory these days.