Survivalist Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
214 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
The rifle was a PTR 91, GI model; the ammunition was Wolf Polyformance steel-cased. I shot off of a table with a gun rest. Iron sights only; no scope.

The 1st target is at 25 yds. The squares are 1”, so the bulls-eye has a 2” diameter.

I made a windage adjustment to move the POI slightly to the right and then fired at the 2nd target. It was set at 25 yds also, and is supposed to simulate a full-size Army “D” (dog) target at 100 yds. I scored 35 out of 35 points possible.

Then I moved out to 100 yds.

I fired five shots at Mr. Bones’ head. Not a pretty group (I’m still learning where the bullet rise is at that distance), but all of the shots would be lethal. I also made one more windage adjustment at the end of that string.

Next I fired 10 rounds at the upper CM box.

And then I finished up the box of ammo with five rounds each at two more targets at 100 yds again.

And if I ignore the obligatory flyer you have when you’re shooting Wolf ammo:

·
What hell, pay attention
8,146 Posts
Yup, nice shooting. Looks like you got her zeroed. Now you need to get off that bench and start "shooting". :)

Reactions: Army ELint Spook

·
Registered
2,016 Posts
Easy to shoot when it is perfectly sunny and a nice mild 80 degrees, yet you are still in an air conditioned building.

Gets more real when it is below freezing, sun barely up or barely down, heavy wind and snow.

That is some nice groups especially considering the ammo used.

·
Registered
56 Posts
Nice shooting! Does that model have the 18" barrel? I know that you were shooting steel case rounds, but were they mangled bad enough that if they were brass, could they be reloaded?

·
Registered
214 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
Nice shooting!
Thanks.

Does that model have the 18" barrel?
Yes it does.

I know that you were shooting steel case rounds, but were they mangled bad enough that if they were brass, could they be reloaded?