Survivalist Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Banned
1,766 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I ordered and received a used Hoyt Maxxis 31 compound bow that seems to fit my specifications for my size, age, weight. It looks to be in pristine condition, but it arrives completely compressed (I would imagine so as to fit into a box for shipping).

How do I "decompress" the bow? Yeah, I am ignorant about such things, so I need to learn. I've looked it over for some kind of release, but I'm not seeing it. I have located a limb weight adjustment bolt at the lower end of the bow, but before I start cranking on stuff, I thought I ask someone with more experience than myself.

·
3,124 Posts
Hi RC, congrats on your new toy, I've been shooting for over twenty years and was an Officer of the largest Archery club in E. TX. Since you are new to the sport I would recommend getting a good book on Compound Bows, one that explains the function, how to tune it properly even how to hold it when drawing and shooting. Something like the Bowhunter's Digest by Chuck Adams, I found it to be extremely helpful.
https://www.amazon.com/Bowhunters-Digest-Chuck-Adams/dp/0873491084

To compress the limbs safely you'll need a tool such as this

https://www.hunting-bow.com/collections/tuning-tools/products/bow-medic-bow-press

or this. Now there are much more expensive bow presses out there these will work.

https://www.hunting-bow.com/collections/tuning-tools/products/bowmaster-g2-portable-bow-press

·
Banned
1,766 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Hi Bob,

I do appreciate the help! What I’m trying to do is decompress the bow that arrived compressed. Do I need a bow press to do that?

·
3,124 Posts
Compound bows need to stay strung, they can be damaged if stored incorrectly left unstrung, it won't hurt them. It's stick bows such as recurves and long bows you need to store unstrung.

·
Banned
1,766 Posts
Discussion Starter #7