Survivalist Forum banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
2,353 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I’m pretty investment illiterate. I have a 401k account with a major investment firm. It is invested in a 2030 fund meaning I intend to retire around 2030.

It’s done pretty well over the last 20 years and this year despite Covid but my gut feeling is that with the Dems taking over, the market is going to go down.

Im seriously considering taking the majority of my money and moving it into a lower risk investment - maybe the 2025 fund or just the safest fund they offer. I’ve never done this before- I’ve always just left it ride in the fund. But I’ve never before seen the crazy I’m seeing today.

Thoughts?

·
Registered
2,407 Posts
Call who ever your 401k is with and ask to move it to a more conservative investment group. You should be able to pick out of 20 different options. Usually there is the super low risk option which includes treasury bonds. Your returns will be crap but your loses should be next to none. Might be smart to do if you are that close to retirement.

·
Registered
5,811 Posts
If interest rates go up the value of existing lower producing bonds goes down, significantly. Works the other way, too. If interest rates go down the existing bonds are worth more. However a lot of bonds are callable so they are called back and refinanced at the new lower rate so you don't get the huge benefit.

·
Registered
2,353 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I’ve always heard you aren’t supposed to try to “time the market” and I’ve always had the nerve to just let the money ride. But today with all the things going on it just feels like now is the time to seek more safety.

·
Registered
5,595 Posts
I time the market alot. Listen to your gut feel you mentioned.....thats your subconscious poking your conscious mind. Its noticed something the distracted level overlooked.