Survivalist Forum banner

1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
That'll be the day...
3,494 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
For some background.... The first gun I graduated too from the .22LR, bolt action, child's version, was an old 22 Mag from my grandfather and with that gun I killed my first deer. At age 6, I hit her between the eyes at 25 yards.

For all these years, the 22 Mag has had a soft place in my heart, and I have never owned one.

Now with a $100 Cabelas Gift Card in hand from my daughter and some more cash that is burning a hole in my pocket, I have a serious LUST for this dude!

Henry Octagon-Frontier Model Lever-Action

Anyone have any experience or opinions?

PS. Don't waste your time trying to convince me that a 5.56 is better for a thousand different reasons. I am already good in that category.

·
Registered
4,649 Posts
I'm not a lever fan. I do have a 22 mag bolt and semi. I like the round. When it is not hunting season and I venture into the woods I usually carry the bolt with me. I don't like looking for brass when I take the hornet. I have used the round on ground squirrels and rotts that were killing my goats. I think you have made a fine choice. I would advise to stay away from the winchester dyna points. Hollow points are great for squirrels. I keep a few boxes of CCI or Anguilla soft points for small game should the need arise. I'm fantasizing a 22 mag pistol. Most decent 22 mag pistols are not legal in California. May need to do an out of state gun show or two

·
Banned
229 Posts
you do so much rapidfiring with the Hornet? why can't you just put your left hand over t the ejection port, work the bolt with the rifle on its side and have the empty casing fall right into your hand?

·
Banned
229 Posts