Survivalist Forum banner
1 - 20 of 141 Posts

·
Alpha Woof
354 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I happened to be shooting with some friends today and had my Mossberg 835 with me.... I forgot to replace the Turkey choke on it but was like "Meh, screw it...", so I loaded it up with my 6 rounds and took a stab at a man-sized target about 75-85 yards away. Now I know what you're probably thinking, right? : That I probably didn't hit jack-squat, but the result was pretty surprising! As it turns out I completely peppered the target and there was almost NO surface area that had NOT been painted with little 1200 FPS BB's. I really expected to see only a few hits but in fact I believe most of the projectiles hit the target. Now I'll be the first to admit that I'm pretty new to Shotguns, but this got me to thinking: In a defensive situation, wouldn't Bird-shot be more effective than Slugs? And if that's true, would a Turkey choke perhaps be a better all-around setup for short to medium range defense rather than a tradition-wider-spread-choke? I'm torn, and am hoping some of you have some experience with these varying choke setups. I mean, I realize that only ONE of those BB's hitting a target would really ruin someone's day, but I never imagined being able to semi-accurately lay fire down on a target with a shotty at 75-85 yards until today, and now it's got me thinking that a 12GA is significantly more all-around-viable than I thought it was before for a SHTF situation. It's certainly cheaper to shoot/stockpile ammo for than most other weapons as well. Thoughts?

·
Registered
358 Posts
In a defensive situation, wouldn't Bird-shot be more effective than Slugs?