Survivalist Forum banner

9mm reloading question????

Tags
9mm reloading
9K views 38 replies 21 participants last post by  NCalHippie 
#1 ·
Hi all,
I just started reloading 9mm, and I finally got my dies adjusted.
My question is, I'm using Red dot powder with a 115 gr. plated bullet. I've never used Red Dot before, so I'm not used to using a flaked powder. My Hornady handbook has 2 loads for 115 gr. using Red Dot. One is 3.7 gr. and the other one is 4.1 gr.
On to the real question part, is it normal for the powder to almost fill the entire case?

After I seat the bullet, I cannot here the powder rattle

Is it just Red Dot powder or ist it normal for 9mm period?

Thanks in advance.....

#2 ·
I haven't used Red Dot for 9mm but..

It's not uncommon for powders to fill the entire case and some can be compressed.

Start off with the lighter load and work your way up to the bigger loads.

It's also possible the lighter load, won't let your weapon function properly and you will need to work up.

#3 ·
Yes it can be normal. Depends the powder, I personally have never used red dot but Unique is a flake and I have used that.It isn't a bad thing as a double load will be very apparent. Just follow the book on the low side and go from there. I have found that I can stay on the low side for most of my pistols as the projectile tends to be more accurate than the shooter anyway.

#5 ·
I have factory rounds that are if we are talking about the same "bulge". Is the circumference slightly larger at the of the base of the bullet and up?

If so then I hesitantly say its okay. I use hesitant without seeing it. Check some factory stuff and compare

Are you bullets .355?

Reactions: jodier7
#7 ·