Using car batteries on solar system? - Survivalist Forum
Survivalist Forum

Advertise Here

Go Back   Survivalist Forum > >
Articles Classifieds Donations Gallery Groups Links Store Survival Files

Notices

Disaster Preparedness General Discussion Anything Disaster Preparedness or Survival Related

Advertise Here

Old 09-10-2019, 02:45 PM
Hunter

Thanked 2,180 Times in 1,061 Posts
Default Using car batteries on solar system?

Advertise Here

I have very little experience with solar systems but I have the ability right now to pick up 3 320 watt solar panels for $200. I am thinking of picking them up and a controller and connecting them to a couple large car batteries I have. For the most part I would use them to run lights and radio in my shack so would use it for very little load. Although if we have an extended power outage I would use it to run the freezer and a few lights in the house.

I realize repeatedly draining a car battery will kill it, but would light loads(like lights and radio) also kill them quickly? Is it the worst idea ever to use car batteries in a small solar set up? Or since I already have them and no other use(too large and wrong post set up for any of my vehicles) would it be a cheap system that will work until I can justify spending the money on proper batteries?
Quick reply to this message
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to lasers For This Useful Post:
Old 09-10-2019, 03:00 PM
Don't get me started

Thanked 29,844 Times in 10,504 Posts

Since you have them already there is no reason not to use them. They are not going to last as long as Deep Cycle batteries and you'll want to avoid deep discharge cycles. Probably setup up your shutdown voltage a bit higher for any inverter so that you keep from dropping below 75% charge.

However they will serve to be a ballast during the times your solar panels are being used to supply loads. With 3-320 watt panels you would have a decent amount of power to work with. ~750 watts in full sun.